Search The Infography: 
The Infography

Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)

The following sources are recommended by a professor whose research specialty is the composer Johannes Brahms.


Six Superlative Sources

· Bozarth, George S., ed. Brahms Studies: Analytical and Historical Perspectives. Clarendon Press, 1990.

· Brinkmann, Reinhold. Late Idyll: The Second Symphony of Johannes Brahms. Translated by Peter Palmer. Harvard University Press, 1995.

· Frisch, Walter. Brahms and the Principle of Developing Variation. University of California Press, 1984.

· Frisch, Walter. Brahms: The Four Symphonies. Schirmer Books, 1996.

· Musgrave, Michael. A Brahms Reader. Yale University Press, 2000.

· Notley, Margaret. "Late-Nineteenth-Century Chamber Music and the Cult of the Classical Adagio." 19th-Century Music 23 (1999): 33-61.

Other Excellent Sources

· Brodbeck, David. Brahms: Symphony No. 1. Cambridge University Press, 1997.

· Brodbeck, David. Brahms Studies. 3 vols. University of Nebraska Press, 1994, 1997, 2000.

· Daverio, John. "The Wechsel der Töne in Brahms's Schickalslied." Journal of the American Musicological Society 46 (1993): 84-111.

· Gülke, Peter. Brahms und Bruckner: Zwei Studien. Bärenreiter, 1989.

· Musgrave, Michael. Brahms: A German Requiem. Cambridge University Press, 1996.

· Musgrave, Michael. Brahms 2. Cambridge University Press, 2006.

· Notley, Margaret. "Brahms as Liberal: Genre, Style, and Politics in Late Nineteenth-Century Vienna." 19th-Century Music 17 (1993): 107-23.

· Schmidt, Christian Martin. Brahms und seine Zeit. 2nd ed. Laaber-Verlag, 1998.

Search The Infography
Advanced Search

   Page Through The Infography Alphabetically   
   Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Brain Aneurysms

About The Infography
published by Fields of Knowledge

Berklee College of Music

Clicking this button will display the HTML code.

"The Infography about Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)"
© 2009 Fields of Knowledge
Essex, Iowa 51638-4608 USA